Our Geek Home

Creating our geeky home together

Food and Why We Eat This Way. Meatloaf Cupcakes and Almond Butter and Jelly Cookies

on February 27, 2013

As promised, a food post!

Back story time.  In 2010, shortly after we got married, I almost died due to a lack of adequate amounts of iron in my blood.  I was eating “right” but no matter what I did I was severely anemic.  After I had to crawl my way to the bathroom one day because I had no energy, I ended up in the ER.  There’s more to the story, and perhaps I’ll share the whole thing at some point, but for now I’ll just say I spent the next two years going to a hematologist and getting iron infusions once a week, every single week.

That is…until March of last year.  I was tired of getting infusions every week.  I was tired of being tired all the time.  So I took processed foods out of my life and ate closer to a Primal way.  Two weeks is all it took for me to not need infusions anymore.  Two Weeks.

Through this whole process I realized a few things about what I was eating before.  I am gluten intolerant.  Gluten causes anxiety, severe indigestion, heart palpitations, and obviously anemia in me.  I am also soy and added hormone sensitive.  Artificial food additives and artificial preservatives cause me problems.  So, here I am, probably eating what would be a considered a very “clean” diet.  But it’s not a diet for me.  It’s a lifestyle.  It has to be for me, unless I want to go back to getting infusions on a weekly basis and not being able to go up the stairs without a racing heart.

The benefits, other than the obvious iron improvements, have been many.  But the one people would be interested in the most is probably the weight.  It’s embarrassing and I’m still losing, but I have lost a lot.  My former heavily processed foods diet was not working.  And even when I was eating what most people considered healthy, I still gained.  And I was still quite obese.  I’m overweight now but I still have a long way to go.

February 2012

February 2012

February 2013

February 2013

That’s a 55 pound difference in less than a year.  Not insignificant!

Anyhow, long back story, get on with the food!

Last night I made mini meatloaf cupcakes with mashed cauliflower.  Yum

Ingredients for the meatloaf:

  • 2 pounds ground meat.  I used beef, you can use turkey or chicken or mix and match!
  • 1 yellow onion, diced
  • 1 green bell pepper, diced
  • 4 tsp garlic powder
  • 3 tbsp raw coconut aminos, or soy sauce if you don’t have sensitivities
  • 1 egg
  • sprinkling of salt and pepper, don’t be shy

Preheat oven to 350 F

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl, mix thoroughly.  Really get in there and squish it around.  That’s part of the fun of making a meatloaf. Grease a muffin pan with oil of your choice, then fill it on up!

401Ignore the dirty oven…we will be replacing it in the future.

Bake for 40 minutes.  You can top with your mashed cauliflower if you wish, or serve it on the side, or don’t serve it at all!  I served it on the side.

Mashed Cauliflower Ingredients :

  • One head cauliflower or frozen cauliflower, one bag worth
  • 2 cups chicken broth, optional
  • 4 tbsp butter or coconut oil
  • garlic salt, to taste

You can steam or boil, but to add a really rich flavor I always steam the cauliflower with the chicken broth.  You can use water if you wish, but I enjoy the flavor more of the broth steamed cauliflower.  Let steam until the cauliflower is easily mash-able.  You’re looking for an over steamed texture.

396Pour cauliflower into a stand mixer or food processor.  Added melted butter or coconut oil and spices of choice.  Mix until you get a lumpy mashed potato look.

And there you have it.  Meatloaf cupcakes with mashed cauliflower.   I wish I had an after shot, but I was too hungry apparently!

And now, dessert.

Flour-less Almond Butter and Jelly Cookies

400Full disclosure..When I made these in the past they did not spread out that much, but I made this batch during a rain storm.  Weather matters when baking, very important to remember that!

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup almond butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar.  I used raw sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • dash of salt
  • jelly, your choice

Preheat oven to 350 F

Beat almond butter and sugars together in a mixing bowl until combined.  Add your egg and vanilla next, mix for roughly 2 minutes.  Add baking soda and salt for another 2 minutes until well combined.

Roll your dough into balls and put on a parchment lined cookie sheet.

388After this step, I stuck the pan into the fridge for 15 minutes to let the dough harden a bit.

Once chilled, make a small imprint in your cookie by pressing your finger down in the center.

393

Fill the indentation with jelly of your choice.

394

Bake for 10-15 minutes until cookies are firm. Let cool and then enjoy!

Leave a Reply

