Our Geek Home

Creating our geeky home together

Bacon, Spinach, and Onion Chicken Roll-ups

on March 1, 2013

This recipe was adapted from Bacon and Spinach Stuffed Chicken.

It was yummy!

Bacon, Spinach, and Onion Chicken Rollup

I used 3 large chicken breasts to make this.  Unfortunately, my chicken breasts were rather deformed.  That’s what I get for getting a big bag of frozen chicken breasts that I couldn’t see into.  When I make these again, and I will because of husbandly requests, I’ll use breasts that I actually see first!

001See?  Funky looking chicken breasts.  Anyhow, I butterflied them as much as possible, something I had never done before in my entire life.  Basically it involves cutting them just short of in half, and then opening the sides like a book.  After that I used my trusty rolling pin and smashed them flat…sort of.  It didn’t work as great as I would have liked, but the pieces were all basically the same thickness, so I went with it.  My husband and I joke that I’m a good cook, but not a good chef.  My technique leaves a lot to be desired!  After I made my topping, I scooped it on one side of the flattened chicken, then rolled them up and placed it open side down on a foil lined cookie sheet.  The act of cooking sealed the rolls shut pretty well!

Ok, to the recipe!

Ingredients

  • 3-4 butterflied and pounded flat chicken breasts
  • 8 ounces chopped mushrooms or 6 or 7 baby bella mushrooms, chopped
  • 5 or 6 pieces of bacon, diced.  I used 6 because I had that many left in my package and leaving one lonely piece of bacon was unacceptable
  • 4 cups fresh spinach
  • 1 yellow onion, diced
  • 1 minced garlic clove
  • salt to taste
  • pepper to taste

Preheat your oven to 350 F

Cook your diced up bacon in a skillet until crispy, remove the bacon pieces and set aside.  Toss (don’t literally toss, you’ll probably end up with bacon grease burns) your garlic, onion, and mushrooms in the skillet, cooking in the bacon grease.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Cook until onion is soft and translucent.  Reduce heat to low and add your spinach to the pan,mix around and cook until spinach is wilted looking. Add in your cooked bacon. Remove from heat.

Spoon your topping onto your flattened chicken, roll up and place on your pan open side down.  There should be some overlapping on the open side, so don’t worry, it wont spill out.  Cook for 20-25 minutes.  Mine took 25 minutes to cook.

005

Eat up, and enjoy!

So the next post I make will probably not be food related.  I have to get the whole Geek Home portion of the blog!

Leave a Reply

