Our Geek Home

Creating our geeky home together

It’s the simple things…

on July 13, 2013

So I just finished wolfing down this food..

010Other than the taste, the best part is that it is so incredibly simple.

Now usually when I post about food it involves recipes.  Not really so much here.  This is just a “Oh my goodness, yummy!” moment.

I used quinoa and rice pasta, which I find has been the best gluten free pasta texture and taste wise.  Sometimes I use zucchini noodles and sometimes I use spaghetti squash, but tonight I really wanted a pasta texture.  Comfort food, I suppose!

So I cooked up the noodles and cooked 2 pieces of chopped up bacon in a frying pan.  Once it was crispy I removed the bacon and tossed in some sliced up mushrooms sprinkled with salt, pepper, and garlic powder.  Once the pasta was tender, I drained and plated it, then tossed the bacon and cut up cherry (or grape, I really don’t know!) tomatoes in with the mushrooms before plating over the pasta.

Yum.  Yuuuum.  Yuuuuummmy.  Okay, see, really very simple.  But so incredibly satisfying too.  And it definitely hit the comfort food spot.

A lot of people think that gluten free foods are bland or that they take a huge amount of time.  While that can be true, it certainly doesn’t have to be!

 

Leave a Reply

